• The Sacraments


"There is always life still as long as you do not abandon the sacraments."  (Msgr. Ronald Knox)

The liturgical life of the Church revolves around the seven sacraments, with the Eucharist at the center.  The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is given to us and celebrated.  Not merely symbols, they are sacred signs that make present and bring about what they signify.

The Church celebrates seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), Eucharist, Penance (or Reconciliation), Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.  These pages provide a brief description of each of these beautiful gifts of God, highlighting in particular the teaching of St. John Paul II.