June 5, 2024

Media Advisory: Diocese of Arlington to celebrate Jubilee Fest honoring 50th anniversary of its founding 

On August 13, 1974, the Diocese of Arlington was created by papal decree.  As part of its three-year celebration marking the event, the diocese is hosting a free Jubilee Fest, open to all this Saturday. The event, held at the Warren County Fairgrounds, includes Mass, music, food, small business vendors, games, music and fireworks. More than 6,000 people are expected to attend.

“I can think of no better way to celebrate this golden jubilee milestone than by coming together to give thanks to God as one diocesan family,” said Bishop Michael F. Burbidge of the Diocese of Arlington.

Bishop Burbidge will celebrate Mass outdoors at 4 p.m. Numerous other priests from the diocese will be in attendance as well.  


WHAT:           Diocese of Arlington Jubilee Fest

WHEN:          Saturday, June 8, 3:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

WHERE:  Warren County Fairgrounds
26 Fairground Road
Front Royal, VA 22630

Schedule of events:

3:45 p.m. -  Marian procession
4 p.m. -  Vigil Mass celebrated by Bishop Burbidge, concelebrated by priests of the diocese
5-9:30 p.m. -  Festival fun, including food, music, petting zoo, rides and entertainment

More information about the Jubilee Fest can be found here.


Media wishing to cover the event can reach out to Mary Shaffrey, director of media relations for the Diocese of Arlington,mary.shaffrey@arlingtondiocese.orgOR 703-841-2517.


The Catholic Diocese of Arlington was established on August 13, 1974, and is home to 70 parishes and six mission churches. There are more than 433,000 Catholics registered in the diocese. More than 290 priests, along with 38 seminarians in priestly formation, help serve the churches, bringing the faith to a culturally diverse region of the country with Mass celebrated in at least five languages on a weekly basis, and several others throughout the year. There are 18,284 students enrolled in more than 40 schools ranging from pre-school to high school.


Geographically, the diocese includes the seven cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester and the 21 counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren and Westmoreland.