Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Media Advisory


Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Diocese of Arlington, to Celebrate Mass to Honor the Life and Legacy of Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.


ARLINGTON, Va. - On Sunday, January 12, Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Catholic Diocese of Arlington, will celebrate a Mass in Recognition of Martin Luther King Jr. at the Cathedral of St. Thomas More. The annual Mass honors the life and legacy of the late civil rights leader who was slain almost 52 years ago. 

“Dr. King courageously persevered in the face of hatred and evil to stand publicly for civil rights. He fought so that all persons, without exception, be treated with the dignity given to them by God,” said Bishop Burbidge. “Dr. King endeavored to end bigotry and prejudice through a message of hope and love. We thank God for his leadership on civil rights and pray for an end to the prejudice and bigotry that, sadly, still exist today.”

WHAT: Mass in Recognition of Martin Luther King Jr.

WHO: General Public

WHEN: Sunday, January 12, 2020

11 a.m. Mass

12 p.m. (Approximately) Reception

WHERE: Cathedral of St. Thomas More

3901 Cathedral Lane

Arlington, VA 22203

For additional information, contact Amber Roseboom, Director of Media Relations, Catholic Diocese of Arlington, at 571-215-8731 or

# # #

The Catholic Diocese of Arlington was established on August 13,1974, and is home to 70 parishes and more than 460,000 Catholics. There are currently 276 priests serving in the Diocese and 49 seminarians discerning a priestly vocation. The Diocese has 37 parish (K-8) schools, four diocesan high schools, four independent Catholic schools and five free-standing (not connected with a parish school) pre-schools, serving more than 17,000 students.


Geographically, the Diocese includes the seven cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester and the 21 counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren and Westmoreland.