Chalice and Bread 1440x420

Ministry Formation: Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion

REGISTER for Spring In-Person Workshops

The consummation of the celebration of the Eucharist is Holy Communion, “whereby the people purchased for the Father by his beloved Son eat and drink the Body and Blood of Christ” (USCCB, Norms for the Distribution of Communion under Both Kinds for the Dioceses of the United States of America, no. 5). In Mass, Holy Communion is distributed by Bishops, Priests, and Deacons by virtue of their office as ordinary ministers of the Body and Blood of the Lord. However, when a sufficient number of ordinary ministers is not present, “the Priest may call upon extraordinary ministers to assist him” (General Instruction of the Roman Missal, no. 162). “Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion should receive sufficient spiritual, theological, and practical preparation to fulfill their role with knowledge and reverence” (Norms for the Distribution of Communion, no. 28).

In the Diocese of Arlington, candidates to be Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion should be at least 18 years of age, exemplary Catholics, and devoted to the Eucharist. Candidates are required to attend a formation workshop presented by the Office of Divine Worship. Individuals who desire to become Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion should contact their local parish.

_

Resources for Pastors and Parish Staffs

Workshops are held in Deaneries II-V in the Spring and in Deaneries I, VI-VII in the Fall. Additional workshops may be offered by request and at the discretion of the Office of Divine Worship.

Pastors and Chaplains may request updates to the Parish Lists at any time using the form below, especially when parishioners attend workshops.

  

 Pastors and Chaplains may also request a list of EMHCs mandated for their parish/chaplaincy by emailing liturgy@arlingtondiocese.org.

_

SCHEDULE OF WORKSHOPS - 2022

In-person workshops will resume in the Spring 2022. 

  • Sat, Feb 12, 10-11:30am · Christ the Redeemer, (Sterling, Deanery III)
  • Sat, Feb 12, 10-11:30am · Christ the Redeemer, (Sterling, Deanery III - en español)
  • Sat, Mar 19, 10-11:30am · Good Shepherd, (Alexandria, Deanery II)
  • Sat, Mar 26, 10-11:30am · All Saints, (Manassas, Deanery V)
  • Sat, Apr 2, 10-11:30am · Sacred Heart of Jesus, (Winchester, Deanery IV)
      
    Workshops will be offered in Deaneries I, VI, and VII in the Fall 2022.

_

PREVIOUS WORKSHOPS - Fall 2021

  1. Saturday, September 25, 2021, Cathedral of Saint Thomas More (Arlington)
  2. Saturday, October 2, 2021, Saint Mary of Sorrows (Fairfax)
  3. Saturday, October 23, 2021, Saint Mary of the Immaculate Conception (Fredericksburg)

PREVIOUS WORKSHOPS - Spring/Summer 2021

  1. Monday, February 1, 2021 (2 sessions), virtual
  2. Monday, March 15, 2021, virtual
  3. Saturday, March 20, 2021, virtual
  4. Monday, April 19, 2021 (2 sessions), virtual
  5. Saturday, May 8, 2021, virtual
  6. Monday, May 10, 2021, virtual
  7. Monday, June 21, 2021, virtual
  8. Tuesday, June 22, 2021, virtual
  9. Thursday, June 24, 2021, virtual
  10. Monday, July 12, 2021, virtual
  11. Tuesday, July 13, 2021, virtual
  12. Thursday, July 15, 2021, virtual

PREVIOUS WORKSHOPS - 2020

  1. Saturday, February 29, 2020, Our Lady of Hope (Potomac Falls)
    additional workshops in 2020 cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic