March 26, 2021

Amber Roseboom
Director of Media Relations
Catholic Diocese of Arlington

MEDIA ADVISORY: Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Diocese of Arlington, to Celebrate Mass for the Sick of the Arlington Diocese This Saturday, via Livestream  

Mass Takes Place Roughly One Year After the Onset of the Coronavirus in Virginia

ARLINGTON, Va. - On Saturday, March 27, Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Diocese of Arlington, will serve as the principal celebrant and homilist for the Mass for the Sick of the Diocese of Arlington. The Mass comes roughly one year after the first case and first death resulting from COVID-19 in Virginia and is offered for the intentions of those suffering from any ailment. The Order of Malta, Northern Virginia Region of the Federal Association USA, is hosting the Mass. The faithful are invited to watch via livestream here.


Mass for the Sick of the Arlington Diocese


All are invited to participate via Livestream                    


Saturday, March 27, 11 a.m.


Due to COVID-19 protocols in the Diocese of Arlington, the faithful of the Diocese are invited to participate in the livestream here.

Fr. Andrew Fisher, pastor, St. Ambrose Catholic Church, and Fr. Alexander Drummond, pastor, St. Michael Catholic Church, Regional Magistral Chaplains of the Order, will concelebrate the Mass.

Interested media should contact Amber Roseboom, Director of Media Relations, Catholic Diocese of Arlington, at 571-215-8731 or

# # #

The Catholic Diocese of Arlington was established on August 13, 1974, and is home to 71 parishes and more than 460,000 Catholics. There are currently 276 priests serving in the Diocese and 45 seminarians discerning a priestly vocation. The Diocese has 37 parish (K-8) schools, four diocesan high schools, four independent Catholic schools and five free-standing (not connected with a parish school) pre-schools, serving more than 17,000 students. 

The Diocese includes the seven cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester and the 21 counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren and Westmoreland.