May 7, 2021

Amber Roseboom
Director of Media Relations
Catholic Diocese of Arlington

Mother's Day Message From Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Catholic Diocese Of Arlington

On Sunday, May 9, we will once again have the great privilege to celebrate Mother's Day, honoring those women, both living and deceased, who have dedicated their lives to making ours better. (See video message here.)

The nurturing and care that mothers represent have never been so important than during this past year. Mothers, as your families faced once-in-a-lifetime challenges, it was unsurprising that you retained a steadfast hand, a strong resolve and an uncompromising commitment to care for your loved ones. Whether it was helping your children adjust to a virtual learning environment, maintaining the health and well-being of your family, or ensuring that the spiritual needs of your family were met, we humbly appreciate your devotion, love and sacrifice during these demanding days.

Thank you for the witness of your beautiful vocation, and wishing you abundant blessings, may God bless you this Mother's Day and always.

For additional information, contact Amber Roseboom, Director of Media Relations, Catholic Diocese of Arlington, at 571-215-8731 or

# # #

The Catholic Diocese of Arlington was established on August 13, 1974, and is home to 70 parishes and more than 460,000 Catholics. There are currently 276 priests serving in the Diocese and 49 seminarians discerning a priestly vocation. The Diocese has 37 parish (K-8) schools, four diocesan high schools, four independent Catholic schools and five free-standing (not connected with a parish school) pre-schools, serving more than 17,000 students.

Geographically, the Diocese includes the seven cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester and the 21 counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren and Westmoreland.