“The Light is On” Confessions Begin This Wednesday Evening in the Diocese of Arlington's 70 Parishes and Continue Wednesdays During Lent


ARLINGTON, Va. - On Wednesday, March 9, the first full week of the Lenten season, “The Light is ON” confessions begin in the Diocese of Arlington. The initiative is a partnership with the Archdiocese of Washington to promote the Sacrament of Reconciliation by offering it on an increased basis during Lent. Every Wednesday evening, March 9-April 6, all 70 parishes in the Diocese of Arlington are open for quiet prayer and confession beginning at 6:30 p.m. “The Light is ON” confessions are in addition to parishes' regularly scheduled or by-appointment confessions.  

“For those who express their sorrow and desire to begin anew, there is no sin greater than God's mercy. During this sacred Season of Lent, I encourage all Catholics in the Diocese of Arlington, especially those who have fallen away from the practice of the faith, to experience the Lord's forgiveness in the Sacrament of Reconciliation. In doing so, your sins will be forgiven, and you will know the peace only the Lord can give,” said Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Diocese of Arlington. “It is grace that will allow you to respond to the Lenten call: 'Turn away from sin and be faithful to the Gospel.'”

“The Light is ON” confessions have been taking place in the Diocese of Arlington for the past 14 years. To find a parish or download confession resources, visit http://www.thelightison.org. Examinations of conscience for children, youth and adults to prepare for confession can also be found at https://www.arlingtondiocese.org/evangelization/examination-of-conscience/.

For additional information, contact Amber Roseboom, Director of Media Relations, Catholic Diocese of Arlington, at 571-215-8731 or Amber.Roseboom@arlingtondiocese.org.

# # #

The Catholic Diocese of Arlington was established on August 13, 1974, and is home to 70 parishes and more than 460,000 Catholics. There are currently 276 priests serving in the Diocese and 49 seminarians discerning a priestly vocation. The Diocese has 37 parish (K-8) schools, one virtual school, four diocesan high schools, five independent Catholic schools and three free-standing (not connected with a parish school) pre-schools, serving more than 16,800 students. 

Geographically, the Diocese includes the seven cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester and the 21 counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren and Westmoreland.