Bishop Michael F. Burbidge to Lead the Diocese of Arlington in the Prayer of Consecration, Offered for Russia and Ukraine, this Friday, March 25, at the Cathedral of St. Thomas More in Arlington, Va.

The prayer will be offered at the end of the 12:05 Mass and will be united to Pope Francis' consecration of Russia and Ukraine

ARLINGTON, Va. - This Friday, March 25, Bishop Michael F. Burbidge will lead the faithful of the Diocese of Arlington in the Prayer of Consecration, offered for Russia and Ukraine. The prayer will take place at the end of the 12:05 p.m. Mass for the Solemnity of the Annunciation of the Lord, celebrated by Bishop Burbidge, at the Cathedral of St. Thomas More in Arlington, Va.  

Bishop Burbidge is uniting the Prayer of Consecration to that of Pope Francis, as the Holy Father will consecrate Russia and Ukraine to the Immaculate Heart of Mary during an evening penance service at Saint Peter's Basilica the same day. The Holy Father invited all bishops and priests throughout the world to join in this consecration.

12:05 p.m. Mass for the Solemnity of the Annunciation, celebrated by Bishop Burbidge
Prayer of Consecration, offered for Russia and Ukraine, led by Bishop Burbidge at the end of the Mass

The Cathedral of St. Thomas More
3901 Cathedral Ln.
Arlington, VA 22203

In addition to celebrating the Mass in-person and joining in prayer at the Cathedral, Bishop Burbidge invited all priests and parishioners to join him via live-stream at the diocesan YouTube channel (

For more information on the Catholic Diocese of Arlington, visit  

For additional information, contact Amber Roseboom, Director of Media Relations, Catholic Diocese of Arlington, at 571-215-8731 or

# # #

The Catholic Diocese of Arlington was established on August 13, 1974, and is home to 70 parishes and more than 460,000 Catholics. There are currently 276 priests serving in the Diocese and 49 seminarians discerning a priestly vocation. The Diocese has 37 parish (K-8) schools, one virtual school, four diocesan high schools, five independent Catholic schools and three free-standing (not connected with a parish school) pre-schools, serving more than 16,800 students. 

Geographically, the Diocese includes the seven cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester and the 21 counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren and Westmoreland.